LGBT+ North East Awards 2020

Due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic, we’ve taken the decision to postpone this years awards ceremony, which was due to be held on October 23rd 2020, at Sage Gateshead. Winners will now be announced at a ceremony in 2021, with a date to be announced soon. The list of 2020 finalists can be found below.

Charity & Community Initiative Award (Sponsored by North East Ambulance Service)

Newcastle Ravens, ReportOUT, LIT NE, Be Trans and Hart Gables

Outstanding Contribution to LGBT+ Life Award (Sponsored by Sunderland Partnership)

Catherine Donovan, Cat Hurst, Jay Anderson, Ellie Lowther and Rainbow Renegades

Volunteer of the Year Award (Sponsored by Northumbrian Water)

Lynzee McShea, Laura Wilmot, Robert Currie & Penny Day, Tee Mcgahey and Jay Anderson

Ally of the Year Award (Sponsored by University of Sunderland)

Justine Gillespie, LGBT+ Focus Group, Dylan Hurst, Joyce Anderson and David and Dianne Snowdon

Creating Safer Learning Spaces Award (Sponsored by Gentoo)

Stephen Day, University of Sunderland, Washington Academy, Trans Aware, Teesside University

Arts & Media Award (Sponsored by Up North Media Group)

T Boys on Pride Radio, Customs House, Curious Arts, Pride Radio and Alphabetti Theatre

Inclusive Workplace Award (Sponsored by Teesside University Students’ Union)

North Star Housing, North East Ambulance Service, Gentoo, Newcastle City Council and Tyne and Wear Fire and Rescue

Inspirational Leader Award (Sponsored by South Tyneside Homes)

Philipa Scrafton, Drew Dalton, Peter Miller, Emma Burrow and Ross Hogarth